Media and Policy Inquiries:

Reach the Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines by phone at (703) 971-1700 or via email at

Mailing Address and Phone:
Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines
PO Box 3691
Arlington, VA 22203
(703) 960-0601

Contact Our Staff

Ralph McKibbin, MD, FACP, FACG, AGAF 
Chairman, Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines

Dr. McKibbin is a practicing gastroenterologist at Blair Gastroenterology Associates in Altoona, PA. He is past president of both the Pennsylvania Society of Gastroenterology and of the Digestive Disease National Coalition (DDNC). He sits on the Member Advisory Panel of the Pennsylvania Medical Society; and is a member of the Pennsylvania State Cancer Control Consortium.

Dr. McKibbin has written extensively on the issues of non-medical switching and insurance industry utilization management techniques including step therapy and copay accumulator adjustments.


Michael Reilly, Esq. 
Executive Director, Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines

Michael Reilly has served as the executive director of ASBM since its inception in 2010. He has more than a decade of experience in the federal government developing and implementing healthcare policy.

Mr. Reilly served as the associate deputy secretary at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) from 2005-2008 responsible for policy development and implementation, as well as regulatory oversight for issues involving CMS and the FDA. In addition to serving as the associate deputy secretary, Mr. Reilly served as a senior advisor to the assistant secretary for public affairs and the assistant secretary for planning and evaluation at HHS from 2002-2005.

Mr. Reilly has been quoted in a series of FDA publications and co-authored many articles on biosimilars for the Generics and Biosimilars Initiative Journal. He has also presented to health regulators worldwide, including the Australian TGA, Health Canada and the World Health Organization (WHO).

Philip J. Schneider, MS, FASHP 
International Advisory Board Chair, Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines

Philip Schneider has served as ASBM’s International Advisory Board chair since 2014. Schneider was Professor and Associate Dean for Academic and Professional Affairs for the University of Arizona, College of Pharmacy at the Phoenix Biomedical campus.  In this position, he was responsible for the launch and growth of the College of Pharmacy program at the new Phoenix Biomedical Campus.  He also held faculty appointments at the University of Arizona Colleges of Medicine and Public Health. He is a past president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and past president of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (A.S.P.E.N.), having served for ten years as the first Editor-in-Chief of Nutrition in Clinical Practice, one of its two official publications.  He is currently a Vice President of the International Pharmaceutical Federation.

Ray Patnaude

Programs Director, Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines

Ray Patnaude is the Programs Director at ASBM, where he has served since 2013. His expertise includes developing and implementing ASBM’s educational and advocacy programs. Ray has coauthored and managed multiple nationally-accredited continuing medical education courses, enhancing healthcare practices across the nation. His work in stakeholder advocacy has helped shape pivotal reforms and informed legislative processes through comment letters, policy briefings, healthcare practitioner surveys and other stakeholder collaborations. A graduate in Political Science from Indiana University, Ray’s comprehensive approach and strategic partnerships have significantly advanced patient-centered policies and healthcare education.



ASBM Chairmen Emeriti

Madelaine Feldman, MD, FACR 
Immediate Past Chair, Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines

Madelaine A. Feldman, M.D. FACR served as ASBM Chair from 2017-2021. She is a rheumatologist in private practice with The Rheumatology Group in New Orleans, Louisiana.  She is President of the Coalition of State Rheumatology Organizations, founder of Rheumatology Alliance of Louisiana, and Chair of Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines.

Dr. Feldman is a national speaker on drug pricing and transparency in the drug supply chain in the United States.  She is a clinical assistant professor of medicine at Tulane University Medical School and President of the Tulane Medical Alumni Association board of directors. She was awarded the Distinguished Service award by Tulane Medical School and was named one of the top 50 women of 2017 by New Orleans City Business. Named one of New Orleans’ top doctors for over 10 years, she is also the former radio talk show host of “Driving with Dr. Mattie”.


Harry L. Gewanter, MD, FAAP, FACR, MACR

Past Chair, Alliance for Safe Biologics

Dr. Gewanter is a pediatric rheumatologist and served as ASBM Chair of ASBM from 2014-2017.  Prior to being named chair, Dr. Gewanter served on ASBM’s International Advisory Board.  While chair, he provided valuable testimony to health regulators worldwide, including the World Health Organization.  ASBM expanded globally in its advocacy efforts and with its membership under his chairmanship.

Dr. Gewanter is a graduate of Duke University and received his medical training at Wayne State University. He conducted his pediatric internship and residency at the University of Rochester/Strong Memorial Hospital. He has practiced in Richmond Virginia since 1983.

After more than three decades, Dr. Gewanter decided to retire from clinical practice to focus his efforts advocating for systemic change for people with disabilities. He is especially passionate on
issues affecting children and youth with special health care needs.


Richard Dolinar, MD 

Past Chair, Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines

A clinical endocrinologist, Dr. Dolinar was ASBM’s first chair and served from 2010-2013.  Under his leadership, ASBM grew into an authority known for its unbiased research and information on biosimilars policy issues.  He frequently testified before the U.S. Congress, Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and state legislatures around the United States. Dr. Dolinar was also the first chair to testify before the World Health Organization.

Dr. Dolinar received his medical degree from The State University of New York and did his Fellowship at Duke University. He is a past board member of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) and serves on its National Legislative and Regulatory Committee.

Dr. Dolinar resides in Arizona where he continues to practice at the Arizona Endocrinology Center in Phoenix.